Ed's 5.9

tuning safety pointers please

Hello, I am still very new to smarty products so I have been exploring the different settings and parameters on my smarty touch. I have noticed a lot of different results in smoke, power, sound etc. My question is, is there some way to confirm the safety of a tune thats not based on sound, smoke or the power felt at the seat of your pants ? As I mentioned before I'm new to all of this and I dont want to rely on just my judgement of weather a specific tune "feels" safe or not. To be a little more specific my main concern is timing and long term engine reliability. Thank you for your time.

Good morning Ed!

To be safe, one should monitor their gauges especially EGT.

We tell folks that SW 3 is safe for a stock auto trans and SW 5 is safe for a manual with a stock clutch.

SW 5 with timing @ greatest actually offers lower egt than stock.

Long term engine reliability? That is influenced by the right foot. One can use a higher SW if one controls the right foot. Also one needs to know which other modifications the truck has to be able to recommend the highest reliable tune.

Thank you!

Good morning Ed!

To be safe, one should monitor their gauges especially EGT.

We tell folks that SW 3 is safe for a stock auto trans and SW 5 is safe for a manual with a stock clutch.

SW 5 with timing @ greatest actually offers lower egt than stock.

Long term engine reliability? That is influenced by the right foot. One can use a higher SW if one controls the right foot. Also one needs to know which other modifications the truck has to be able to recommend the highest reliable tune.

Thank you!