jacques357

Tune advice...please

I have a 2001 5.9 with the following mods; VP44 Hot Rod injection pump, Bosch stage 2 injectors, FAAS 150 GPH lift system, AFE intake horn, Holset Cheetah 63 mm turbo, and the Araid cold air intake. I've tried every tune on this Smarty S2G and I can't say that I'm impressed. I'm getting plenty of fuel (EGT's regularly hitting 1200 or greater), my mileage has dropped significantly (from 19 to 14 MPG), and I look like a friggin volcano. While this comes in handy for passing a Prius it ain't doing me much good anywhere else. I'm about to upgrade the exhaust to a straight 4" in the hopes that backpressure is keeping me from getting much more than 30 lbs of boost (waste gate set for 43 lbs), in the mean time can anyone suggest a pre-loaded tune that would work for me? Or possibly is there a tune I can download and try? I'm relatively new to the diesel hot rod stuff and am rapidly losing hope. Please feel free to point out my stupidity if there's something I've done wrong on this build, or if there's something else I need to do. I'd like to avoid the dyno/programmer fees if at all possible.

Good morning! My 02 with stock injectors and turbo I like to use SW 7. I have no smoke issues and get magnificent fuel mileage. To reduce smoke use TQ 1.

1998.5-2002 5.9L

Torque

The Torque selection can be programmed with a value between 1 (low) and 5

(high).

Injection Timing

The Timing selection can be programmed, 1 (advanced), 2 (moderate) or 3

(greatest)

Injection Duration

The Duration selection can be programmed with a value between 1 (low) and 4

That certainly helps. Just having the torque and duration options explained a little bit helps a lot. I wish there was some clear documentation regarding these included with the programmer. All this being said, I'm assuming that the pre-programmed tunes advance in aggressiveness as the tune number advances? 1 being the least aggressive and 9 being the most? Like I said, I'm new to this.